Comforting Penny Story

Thank you to everyone who has sent words of comfort to me as I deal with the loss of a very good friend. The e-mails, blog and Facebook comments, texts, and phone calls have all meant so much.

I wanted to share a story that has really touched me about pennies. I found this story very comforting and also affirming. To lose a friend that had just turned 30 really makes me question is any of this “work” that I do worth it?

Thank you, Tammy, for allowing me to share your story. Thank you for sharing it with me in my time of need; it is really special.

PEar

“So very sorry for your loss! It is never easy to lose someone close and dear to your heart.

Awhile back you had a give away for “penny earrings”. I entered because of how special pennies have become to my family.

Two years ago my father passed away, and 10 days later my nephew passed away (quite unexpectedly). After grieving and going through all the emotions of death and coming to the realization, they were not coming back . . . we began to come across pennies in the strangest places.

Everyone in my family has a “penny” story or two or three or four . . . We have found great solace in finding these pennies in unusual places and at times when we “need them”. It has become a way that we still feel connected to them. Like they are reminding us . . . they are still with us.

In fact the day I entered the contest . . .  I was really missing my dad . . .  I posted; my nephew’s mother saw my “like” & :share” and called me. “How cool will it be if you win these penny earrings,” she said. I told her, if I didn’t win, that was just a moment in time that they were saying hello!

Someone else was blessed to win the earrings, and I can only wish them good things and hope luck will be on their side with the penny earrings. I also considered it a wonderful “hello” from my dad.

I hope that your penny earrings will somehow bring you comfort during the dark days ahead. Facebook is a funny thing . . . making friends that you never meet, yet sometimes knowing you can share your thoughts with total strangers and total strangers can understand your pain.

May God be with you and hold your tender heart in his hands as you deal with your loss! -Tammy”

And I leave you with a penny poem that Tammy shared with me. I love it.  -Carly, Mountain Light Jewelry

Pennys

I found a penny today
Just laying on the ground
But it’s not just a penny
This little coin I found
Found Pennies come from Heaven
That’s what my Grandpa told me
He said Angels toss them down
Oh how I loved that story
He said when an Angel misses you
They toss a penny down
Sometimes just to cheer you up
To make a smile out of a frown
So don’t pass by that penny
When you are feeling blue
For it may be a penny from Heaven
That a special Angel tossed just to you.
Author Unknown
About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in My Life and Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

