Honoring A Friend’s Memory

It has been one week since the loss of my friend Lorrie Fenn. It has been a tough, rough, and rocky week. But I am starting to feel a little more “normal.” And I am starting to throw a few exclamation points into my writing once again.

I’m going to close this week with some of the beautiful things my friend Lorrie created. There were so many!

First off, Lorrie created the beautiful logo you see at the top of this page and all over my website. She had such a gift for “getting it”. I came to her with a logo idea, and the end result was beautiful but just not me. She asked if I would trust her to come up with something for me, and the girl nailed it on the first try.

Her newest project was Lorrie Creates. This was the new name for her business, just perfect. And next was the big step of moving her home based design business into a real deal office space in town. It was a super cute space, and I am glad to have been there many times, sharing creativity with her.

Lorrie was the first REAL blogger I knew with her blog The Token Fat Girl. She shared such depth in her writing. And she is THE inspiration behind why I blog. She told me I needed to do it and showed me how. Thanks, girl!

Over the last year, Lorrie had moved her blogging focus from The Token Fat Girl to Beautiful Layers. Her e-magazine of that title was something she was so passionate about creating. She used her online magazine as a way to inspire women and was working toward expanding that with e-books and more magazines.

I was blessed to have partnered in an upcycled clothing company with Lorrie. We created some really awesome clothes under the name of Elizabeth’s Heritage Clothing Company. I am grateful to have some of the best pieces from that clothing line hanging in my closet.

Through working with Lorrie, I have been able to define better my personal style. I have a closet full of clothes that Lorrie picked out for me. She just had an eye. Shopping with her, she would just grab something and tell me to try it on. I would ask what size it was; she had no idea, and she would say, “It’s your size; go try it on.” She was always right.

She was right about so many things. She had a gift of seeing the big picture and creating a clear path to get me there. She shared that vision and gift with so many of us.

Lorrie was the glue that held so much together for me and so many others. As I move forward with projects we were working on, I realize no one will get it like she did. And I will have to learn to trust others with my vision. I know she will be there to guide me to the right people.

I lost a good friend, a mentor, a life coach, a business coach, a giggle buddy, a shopping partner, and so much more. But I know that I am very blessed to have had all that in one package. I know that Lorrie has planted seeds in my life that will be realized throughout the duration. I will do my best to carry on her creative and inspirational spirit in my work. And I will miss her like crazy.

Leaving you with a funny picture of Lorrie and me trying to take a picture of our goofy selves.

TakingOurOwnPic

Lorrie Fenn and Carly Burke

Mountain Light Jewelry

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in My Life and Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Honoring A Friend’s Memory

  1. Nannette says:

    Thank you Carly for sharing, I know Lorrie thought the world of you. I was so happy for her and her life in Floyd. She was so very happy doing all things she loved. She had so many ideas and wanted to do everything. Sometimes it was overwhelming for her to chose what to do first. She loved her time with the women’s group. All of the dinners and time spent creating. What a blessing she met you at the art market and all the Friday nights you all spent selling jewelry.
    Love Always
    Nannette

    • Nannette,

      Your daughter meant the world to me! She brought so much to my life. SOOOO much! She was just an amazing beauty! I do not regret a moment with her. I always lingered in her doorway when leaving, because I never got enough, and I am glad I told her that often. I adored the way her mind worked. I loved that I could take an idea to her and she could help me make it real. And thanks to her I have a very tight group of healthy, happy and creative girlfriends to see me through to the next chapter of my life.

      Big Hug!
      Carly

  2. knitty34 says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your love for your friend with us. I cannot imagine the hurt you are feeling, but I hope you know that there are strangers here in the world who are thinking of you and sending hugs. 🙂

    • Thank you. My friend Lorrie had been helping me grow my blog and encouraging me to build an online community. This has been so foreign to me for so long, but over the past few months I am finally getting it. Just because we have never met, we can still get to know and support one another. It is a blessing.

  3. She’s one of those special friends everyone should be lucky enough to have at least once in their life. And I’m sure you were the same for her, Carly. She was there to inspire, love, and co-create. And you will continue that legacy because of her. 🙂 Many blessings through this difficult time, but though there is sorrow, it sounds like there was much more to celebrate about her life. Be well! And I miss seeing you!

  4. Carly – thanks for writing about Lorrie … it makes me feel a little better to know how much influence she had on people’s lives because that makes me feel like she will live on in the things that those people (like you) do with their lives.

    I have added a memorial page to her website: http://www.lorriefenn.com/memorial/ and I plan on adding a lot more stuff to it in the coming days.

  5. The Josh,

    Lorrie influenced and inspired so many of us. In just 3 years, that girl changed the way I see and do many things. She helped me create a better me.

    My mom had a good friend die 19 years ago. She said that she is now living the life that her friend helped her plant the seeds for 19 years ago. I have no doubt I will have a similar story to tell when I am older and you too.

    Our sweet Lorrie is being celebrated in ways we will never know.

    Big Hug!
    Carly

  6. I stumbled across your blog because i was reading Lorrie’s blog “The Token Fat Girl” and realised she had passed. This is such sad news and I am really sorry to hear. She was a true inspiration.

Leave a Reply

