Mourning The Loss of a Good Friend

On Friday, my very good friend Lorrie Fenn died of a heart attack at the gym. Thursday was her 30th birthday.

Saturday night was to be her 30th birthday party that we had been planning and super excited about for what seemed like months. It was a 1983 themed costume party, and it was going to be EPIC!

Saturday, I was picking out my dress to wear to her funeral instead of putting on my leg warmers to go to her party.

Her awesome and huge birthday present that was going to make her squeal and giggle is sitting in my living room. I am going to keep it there a little bit longer.

I am not working today. I am wallowing in my grief. I am eating corn dogs and chocolate ice cream with M & M’s for sprinkles.

I am obsessively checking into Facebook, seeing if there are any new pictures, any new words. I am sending e-mails, texts, making and receiving phone calls.

That is where I am right now, wallowing.

I am giving myself one more day. My boo will be laid to rest in her hometown of West Virginia tomorrow.

Wednesday I will get back to work. And I would like to share more about my angel faced friend then.  -Carly

AngelFace

Mountain Light Jewelry

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in My Life and Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mourning The Loss of a Good Friend

  1. Carly, I’m so sorry to hear about your friend. It must have been a real shock, and I’m sure it will take a long time to come to terms with.

  2. Tammy Hale says:

    So very sorry for your loss! It is never easy to lose someone close and dear to your heart. Awhile back you had a give away for “penny earrings”. I entered because of how special pennies have become to my family. 2 years ago, my father passed away and 10 days later, my nephew passed away (quite unexpectedly). After grieving and going through all the emotions of death. Coming to the realazation, they were not coming back . . . we began to come across pennies in the strangest places. Everyone in my family has a “penny” story or two or three or four . . . We have found great solice in finding these pennies in unusual places and at times when we “need them”. It has become a way that we still feel connected to them. Like they are reminding us . . . they are still with us. In fact the day I entered the contest . . . I was really missing my dad . . . I posted, my nephews mother saw my “like” & :share” and called me. “How cool will it be if you win these penny earrings” she said. I told her, if I didn’t win, that was just a moment in tme that they were saying hello! Someone else was blessed to win the earrings and I can only wish them good things and hope luck will be on there side with the penny earrings. I also considered it a wonderful, “hello” from my dad. I hope that your penny earrings will some how bring you comfort during the dark days ahead. FB is a funny thing . . . making friends that you never meet, yet sometimes knowing you can share your thoughts with total strangers and total strangers can understand your pain. May God be with you and hold your tender heart in his hands as you deal with your loss! Tammy Hale

    • Tammy, Thank you so very much for sharing this story with me. Your words are so very special. A very beautiful story. I am very touched. This loss for me is tough. I am continuing to wallow in it. I need that right now. I know that I am very blessed. I know the time will come when I have the strength to get up and carry on. My friend planted many seeds in my life. Part of my life work will be to grow those seeds. Many Blessings to you. -Carly

  3. Rhonda Williams says:

    Carly, mourning and wallowing are very appropriate and necessary in the shadow of great loss. If you don’t do it now, you only delay it for another time. She lives on in you and her other “sisters” and I know you will find meaningful ways to shine her light forever. Sending you big ol sloppy hugs and a freezer full of corndogs and ice cream.

  4. Carly, I am so sorry for the loss of your friend. These wounds are deep and they heal slowly. When someone is so special to you it is really hard to let go of them. But you don’t really have to. By wearing my friend’s bracelet every day , I feel she is with me. I can feel her there with me in spirit when i touch my wrist. By letting me participate in her hospice she gave me the greatest gift I have ever been given. Seeing her take her last breath made me aware on such a deep level how precious every breath we take really is. After her death four years ago, I became supercharged with energy to do it NOW, all of it, for truly there is no other time. I wish you peace and good fortune!

  5. Thank you Kathleen. It is always comforting to know others have been through this and I am not alone. Ideas for honoring my friends memory and carrying on her creative spirit are starting to trickle in. I have no doubt her spirit will guide me just as much as her physical being did, if not more. I am looking forward to that super charge of energy to do it NOW! I know it is coming. Many Blessings, Carly

Leave a Reply

