Inspired Trip to Asheville

This past weekend I had a much needed and very inspired trip to Asheville, N.C. I’m just going to tell you right now, Asheville is doing so many things right. I really felt at home there and enjoyed myself tremendously. Here are a few highlights from my trip… starting with the most delicious.

-Pimento Cheese Grits! That’s right, pimento cheese grits. My friends and I enjoyed lunch at the Stable Cafe at Biltmore, and pimento cheese grits were part of my amazing lunch. I have found saying this makes people’s noses turn up, but I will tell you that it was one of the most pleasing dishes I have ever consumed. I am now on the hunt for a recipe. If you have one, please share!

French Broad Chocolate Lounge was absolutely awesome for first lunch on Sunday. I had my first French Chocolate Macaron and a cup of Chocolate Truffle Chai. It was an extremely pleasing treat and I will definitely be making that a regular stop on my trips to Asheville.

Royal Peasantry was another really nice treat, up-cycled clothing done right! It was so inspiring to be in a shop filled with really unique and creative clothing. And the clothes are made by the designer right there in the shop. I loved seeing the sewing machines, waiting and ready for the next piece to be made.

Vintage Moon, next door, is yet another wonderful up-cycled clothing store. This one with a little more whimsy and vintage appeal. Vintage Moon also has a great selection of well preserved vintage items for sale. Their displays were so well put together, it was like stepping into a different time and place.

-I also really loved how Asheville is embracing handmade artisans, local businesses, local foods, and sustainable business practices. I saw time and time again, attention to detail that not only effects us now but the future of our personal, economic and global health.

-And last but not least, was a weekend spent with my girlfriends. It is so nice to have friends that you can let your hair down with and say and do any silly and crazy thing that comes to mind. I am very blessed to have an awesome group of healthy, happy and creative girlfriends! Love to you all!

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in My Life and Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

