Making Copper Cuffs

Yesterday I finished six copper cuffs, also known as my wonder woman bullet deflectors. These are one of my favorite finished products and one of the most labor intensive jewelry pieces that I make. I thought today I would share some of the process that goes into the making of my copper cuffs.

First, I begin with a sheet of 18 gauge copper. I cut the forms for my cuffs out of the sheet using my beloved jeweler’s saw.

My Jeweler’s Saw

I then file the edges using my hand file.

Cuff Form and File

Me Hand Filing the Cuff Form

Next up is sanding the cuff to give it an even surface.

Hand Sanding the Cuff Form

Then I use the rounded end of my ball peen hammer the give the entire surface an indentured texture.

My Handy Dandy Ball Peen Hammer and Hammered Cuff Form

Hammering

I punch holes in the metal to later anchor a stone on the finished cuff. And then I form the cuff on my steel bracelet mandrel, beating it with a raw hide mallet.

Bracelet Mandrel and Raw Hide Mallet

The last part of finishing the cuff is anchoring a stone bead to the cuff using copper wire.

Anchoring the Stone Using Copper Wire

Then the cuffs are finished and ready to be placed on the display for sale.

Copper Cuffs

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in Jewelry and Business. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Making Copper Cuffs

  1. An excellent How-To! You’d never know it was your first time at the rodeo. 🙂

  2. Glaudius says:

    Interesting ! very nicely presented. Looks like something I could do. Except maybe the flawless cut with the jeweler saw.
    Do you seal your copper jewelry to avoid green skin?

    • Thanks! I do not seal my copper, but could if someone requested.

      A lot of people buy my copper cuffs for the benefit they receive from wearing copper. That benefit being, when you wear copper it is absorbing through the skin and into the blood stream. Once copper is in the blood stream it broadens the arteries and increases blood flow. This is why people swear by it for arthritis.

      So that lovely green, purple, black color that copper turns you, especially on a hot sweaty day, is actually a benefit of copper, if you look at it in a medicinal way. Or you can look at it as your body is cleaning the tarnish off the metal, keeping your cuff clean. (Insert giggle)

      Happy and Creative Day to you!
      Carly

Leave a Reply

