The Flow and Rhythm of Business

Lately, I have been thinking about how sweet it is that Mountain Light Jewelry is not only my business but an extension of my life. I really and truly live my business. Designing, making, and selling jewelry are as much a part of my daily routine as eating breakfast and making my bed every morning. There is very little separation.

There is a flow and rhythm in my business that really moves me. And I think the words flow and rhythm are key here. Finding my comfortable rhythm allows for a smooth running business and life.

I loosely plan my days for the most part. Today, for example, I need to write a blog post (check), cut corrugated card board for gift boxes (check), photograph new jewelry (if the sun comes out), post on my Etsy shop, post on my Facebook page, and entertain my little one who is now on summer break from school.

There is no pressure to get these things done, no time limit, but they will all get done before I go to bed this evening. And there is no doubt I will do quite a few more things as the day passes. (Like watching a few episodes of Gillmore Girls, which I am hopelessly addicted to.)

Running a handmade business suits the life that I have chosen for myself. Planning loosely allows for the spirit to move me in the direction that is most suited for that moment.

Being too structured and formulated for the day does not allow flow, or at least not for me. If there is no flow to my day, my creativity is stifled, pressed, or completely non-existent. And creativity is the force behind what I do, so it must flow.

The looser and more flexible I become, the more rhythm I have to my flow. The more rhythm and flow I have in business and life, the more time I have to enjoy my business and my life. And right now I am really enjoying both.

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in Jewelry and Business. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Flow and Rhythm of Business

  1. I just knew that the Gilmore Girls would be an interesting series for you.. Enjoyed your post. I still think you should write a book!
    Love,
    Pat

Leave a Reply

