Easing Into The Show Season

My show season, selling my handmade jewelry at arts and craft shows, has begun. I will be selling my wares most weekends from now until Christmas, as well as private home shows during the week and on my etsy shop.

This being the third year of selling my jewelry, I can see a great change in my attitude. My first year as a jewelry artist found me sliding into shows a ball of nerves, wondering what I had forgotten, worrying that I wouldn’t have enough jewelry, and fearing that I wouldn’t sell anything.

My house and studio would be a complete disaster the week before the show. I would be churning out work all hours of the day and night, and it was never enough, in my opinion. I called the experience  riding the tornado because that is what I felt like I was doing. And that attitude followed me into my second year of business as well.

This past Friday, getting ready for a show, found me in a completely different state. My day was focused on preparing for Burnt Creative Vintage and Indie Craft Market, a really fantastic local show. The day was relaxed and focused on my needs and getting ready for a really awesome Saturday.

By Friday morning, I was ready to load the display into the car, which has become an art in efficiency and ease. I ironed my clothes for the show while watching an episode of Gilmore Girls. I packed my lunch: a veggie burger, fruit smoothie and fruit salad. I posted one last reminder on my Facebook business page for my customers and my workday was done.

I allowed time that day to make sure the house was clean to start the weekend. I painted my toe nails, found inspiration on Pinterest, made time to relax and read. And I even did my dinner preparations at lunch so I would have time after dinner to watch a movie.

Saturday morning was fun and relaxed, even with a little drizzly rain, which can make or break a show. When I finished setting the display, I never even looked to see what time it was; I was ready in plenty of time. I had a great day, lots of time to talk to my customers, and time to enjoy the other artisans.

There was no worry about not having enough jewelry; the display was full! There was no worry that I forgot anything. Three years in, I carry just about everything in multiples. There was no stress in getting ready, and I made more jewelry sales than I anticipated.

All in all it feels really nice to have built a business that brings me joy and even a sense of relaxation. I am doing exactly what I want to do. I have my dream job, and I have an attitude that compliments a dream job. This was not always the case, and I feel very blessed that I can see where I have been and enjoy where I am now.

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in Jewelry and Business. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easing Into The Show Season

  1. You’re a cool little lady!

Leave a Reply

