Saying Goodbye to an Old Tobacco Barn

Not too long ago, I was joking with a friend and said, “What if my true passion in this lifetime is something like preservation of old tobacco barns and not what I am currently perusing with my life and business?!” At the time old tobacco barns were the furthest thing from my mind; it was just something that popped into my head to make a point. Well, it’s funny how those little “jokes” can come to pass into reality.

Last week I was talking to my dad, and he told me he had found someone that was interested in one of the 100 year old tobacco barns on his property. In the next few weeks, this barn will be dismantled and the Chestnut Logs and tin siding will be salvaged for other purposes. Learning this, I decided a field trip to my homeland to say goodbye to this part of my family history was in order.

I come from a long line of tobacco farmers. Many generations and crops of tobacco were grown on my family’s property. Not only my family’s farm, but farms all throughout South Side Virginia,  is steeped in a rich history of tobacco farming.

(For those of you who have never heard a true South Side Virginia pronunciation of the word tobacco, it is pronounced ta-baa-ka. Seriously, there are no o’s in this word here. I had to look up the correct spelling just to make sure there really were o’s in the word!)

So here is my last goodbye to a beautiful old tobacco barn that served my family well. Here is to the chestnut logs that will continue to serve generations to come. And here is to the preservation of my family’s old tobacco barn through pictures and memories. Cheers!

Tobacco sales receipt belonging to my great-great-grandfather.

My great-grandfather in his tobacco field.

My great-grandfathers are the gentlemen on the left and right. My grandfather is in the center without hat.

Tobacco Barn

Tin covered side.

Love the red mud chinking.

Stone Foundation

Beautiful old tin siding.

Tin Siding

Back of Barn

Old Boards and Tin

Beautiful Old Tin Siding

Tin Siding

Just Beautiful!

Tier Poles, where the tobacco was hung to dry.

Tier Poles

Tier Poles

Old Ladder, used to hang tobacco on the tier poles.

Tobacco Curing Thermometer. I brought this home and cleaned it up, my souvenir.

I also found this in the barn, covered in red dirt. Total Score! 🙂

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in My Life and Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Saying Goodbye to an Old Tobacco Barn

  1. This is such a lovely post, Carly. I do enjoy family heritage.

  2. Wow! Great job Carly! The thermometer and cup & saucer are your trophies along with the great pictures you have! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Catherine says:

    Thanks, Carla! Beautiful cup and saucer! Wish it could tell us how it got there. I do not remember a pattern like this one. Wonderful pictures. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Catherine says:

    Ann-English loves her jewelry! She is proudly wearing it around the Central Valley of California and receives lots of compliments! Trying to get her to send you a picture. Keep up the GREAT work.

  5. Coenzyme Q10 says:

    Hello there, simply turned into aware of your blog thru Google, and found that it is really informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. A lot of other folks will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  6. ecigarette says:

    Hi my family member! I wish to say that this post is awesome, nice written and include approximately all important infos. I would like to peer more posts like this .

  7. Undeniably imagine that which you stated. Your favorite justification
    seemed to be on the web the simplest factor to take note of.
    I say to you, I certainly get irked while people consider worries
    that they just do not understand about. You managed to
    hit the nail upon the top as smartly as outlined out the whole thing without having side effect , other people can take a signal.
    Will likely be again to get more. Thank you

  8. Pingback: Inside The Old Tobacco Barn | Mountain Light Jewelry's Blog

Leave a Reply

