Kicking My Coffee Addiction, For Real This Time!

Shortly after starting my business in 2009, I became a coffee drinker. I found selling at day long shows exhausting. Coffee gave me that little pick me up that I felt I needed for afternoons.

Those little pick-me-ups soon became part of my morning ritual. Every morning I write one page in my Bimbur Book Journal and sip my coffee from my Wrenn Pottery Mug.

I drink my coffee black and love the taste and aroma. And I adore the lift coffee gives me first thing in the morning; there is truly nothing like it.

I also have some issues with coffee. Those issues are a tight neck, tight jaw, and a complete dependence on the stuff.

I have tried to come off coffee a few times with no success. The headaches and feeling that I am falling into a pit of despair bring me back to it every time.

This past week I had planned a raw food cleanse with some girlfriends. I usually do a cleanse a few times per year, and this time I decided coffee was coming out of my system once and for all!

For the cleanse, I had a fruit smoothy for breakfast and lunch, a salad for dinner and raw fruits, veggies and nuts during the day. The cleanse was scheduled for 5 days, and I threw in the towel on day four. (I dreamed of local grass-fed beef all that day and took that as a sign to stop.)

I must say that a raw food cleanse and breaking a caffeine addiction are a great pair. I am on day 4 and no headaches! This seems remarkable to me. I keep waiting for it, but it’s just not there.

Not only do I not have headaches, I have a great amount of energy. The cleanse was a great success, and I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to kick the caffeine addiction. Your body will THANK YOU!

(I wrote this post a few days ago and would like to add that day 7 was when the headache came. I am on day 8 of no coffee and am going back to raw foods today. Fingers crossed the headache will not return; it was seriously intense!)

If you have kicked the coffee addiction and have a story you would like to share, I would love to hear it.

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in My Life and Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

