2012 IS MY YEAR! (and you can’t have it)

Two years ago I signed on to Etsy, an awesome on-line crafter’s sight, to sell my handmade jewelry. I found it very time consuming, and I received no reward for my efforts, so I set it aside. Looking back on what I was doing makes me laugh. My jewelry was okay, but my pictures were not good at all. I loaded my entire inventory at once and then sat back and waited for nothing to happen. (Those of you that know how Etsy works are welcome to chuckle with me or at me; I’m okay with that.)

This year I am making a fresh start with my Etsy shop. I am consuming any knowledge I can on Social Media, On-Line Marketing, Product Photography, and whatever else that will get me ahead in promoting my handmade jewelry. I have begun following some of Etsy’s top sellers, reading their blogs, checking out their websites, and watching their etsy shops.

When Handmadeology announced Etsy’s top sellers for 2011, I decided I would make a purchase from one of them to see what makes them standout. The first thing that struck me about each of the top sellers, besides they all have great handmade products, is that they all have a lot of inventory. I thought finding the item for me would be challenging until I came across Etsy’s #10 seller for 2011, HomeStudio. As soon as I entered their shop I knew I was a customer.

HomeStudio has a great variety of handmade Scrabble piece pendants. Each pendant has the Scrabble letter on one side and a sweet little picture on the other. There are so many to choose from, and they seriously have something for everyone. The pendants are great and you totally want more than one. HomeStudio encourages collecting their pendants and makes it really easy with great deals on two or more pendants.

After scrolling HomeStudio’s page over and over, I finally chose a pendant. My pendant says, “2012 IS MY YEAR (and you can’t have it)” I thought that was awesome, and I just couldn’t stop thinking about it when I was searching their shop. A friend went in on the order with me and got a beautiful butterfly pendant with a chain. Two pendants and a chain were $20! I thought that was a great deal.

I’ve been wearing my sassy new pendant everyday. People really love it, and it gets a laugh when I tell them what it says. I have about 5 pendants on my wish list and look forward to owning at least 3; I think that’s the magic number that makes you a collector. Way to go HomeStudio! You’ve created a great, must-have product, and you guys are an inspiration to those of us out here selling our handmade products.

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in My Life and Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

