Winter Hibernation Begins

This past weekend was the end to this year’s show season and the beginning of winter hibernation. Today I unload the display from the car and put it into storage until Spring. I am looking forward to having my store out of the car and parked for Winter. I love my jewelry display and don’t really mind carrying it around ALL THE TIME, but a little break is needed to regain enthusiasm for this part of my business.

This winter’s hibernation will be time to revamp the business, put together my up coming years show schedule, design my line of jewelry for the coming year, and give the house a thorough cleaning. It’s also a time to watch movies and read books, something that gets pushed aside during the busier selling season, and something I feel “normal” people do.

There will also be time for reconnecting with my blog and my etsy shop. These are two aspects of my business which have been neglected this year ,and I am remedying that. Those poor little things need some attention. In this years business plan each of these things have their own category; they also fall under the category of time management.

As the person who does every aspect of my business, time management is coming in near the top of the list for this year. For the most part I do okay scheduling myself but there is always room for improvement. Having two years of business under my belt I am seeing that running a jewelry business is not just making jewelry, as much as I wish it were. This is where the discipline of time management comes into play, and this is a subject I will explore further on another day. Happy Day to each of you!

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in My Life and Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter Hibernation Begins

  1. I just put the link of your blog on my Facebook Wall. very nice blog indeed.,’-”,

  2. I absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be exactly I’m looking for. Can you offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs? I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write in relation to here. Again, awesome weblog!

Leave a Reply

