A Different Medium: Fabric

As the holidays approach, I find myself busy with projects that will be given as gifts to family and friends. For this holiday season all the gifts that I am giving are either handmade by me or by talented artisans in my community. I have found this to be a really fun way to give; There is more thought going into the buying and more creativity going into the making. I am stepping out of my usual medium, jewelry, this year and creating with different materials. Using different mediums has been fun and a little challenging.

Recently I fell in love with a fabric flower design that a friend showed me; it is really simple, and the end result is beautiful. It is created with synthetic fabric cut into different shaped circles. The edges of the fabric are quickly run across the flame of a candle causing the edges to curl slightly. Once each circle is done, they are stacked and then sewn together using a button in the center for embellishment. After making one of these great flowers I had to make something for it to go on.

I dug through my fabrics and ended up with the idea for an upcycled pillow as a gift for my mom’s bedroom. Her bedding is a chocolate brown and her walls are a creamy tan. From my bag of clothes that I have for projects, I came up with a skirt and two tops, one of which belonged to my mother. The skirt became the pillow body, the trim from one of the shirts became a lace enhancement for the pillow, and my mom’s shirt became the flower.

I am really pleased with the end result. I haven’t made pillows since I was in middle school; they were my first sewing machine project and I made pillows for everyone I knew. Making this pillow took me back in the day and was a nice reminder that my sewing and design skills have improved over the years. I’m excited to share this gift with my mom and can’t wait to turn into a giggling teenager when she opens it.

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in My Life and Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Different Medium: Fabric

  1. Pat Guilliams (Mom2) says:

    Very nice. I am sure that your mom will be quite pleased with her gift. I love it!

Leave a Reply

