Love Notes

Recently I read a book directed towards those that own creative businesses.  A suggestion the author made to increase creativity was stepping outside of your normal art form, trying something artistically different for fun.  This sounded intriguing to me; something different is exactly what I needed to give my creative juices an extra boost.

Along with being a jewelry artist, I am also Gallery Coordinator for St. Pierre Gallery in Floyd, VA.  This past Friday I spent the day rearranging the gallery, making room for new artists and showcasing others.  One of my favorite artisans work at the gallery is Bimbur Books, beautifully handcrafted journals, sketchbooks, and notebooks.  While rearranging, I moved and held each one of the books on display.  The craftsmanship is exquisite, and I oh so want to own one of these works of art

That night I came home still feeling the inspiration of the books in my hands and thinking of what my six year old and I were going to do for our weekend project.  Saturday morning it was clear that we were going to make books!  I got out papers and cutting tools and got the little one excited about making a book!  We picked out what papers we were going to use; tissue paper, wrapping paper, card stock, card board, etc.  Then we cut them down to size, drilled holes and watched a youtube video on a Japanese style of book binding.

After sewing the books together, which was really cool, we decorated the front and back and began work filling the books.  My little one dedicated her book to the subject of colors and my book is coming together as a Valentine gift for myself!  I am filling the pages with inspirational quotes, kind messages to myself ,and drawings to aid in holding the words together.

I simply love the inspiring little book that has helped me step out of my box and create something uniquely special in honor of myself.  I encourage each of you to step out of your usual creativity box and explore different art forms just for fun.  It really does help clean the cobwebs out of the corners of creativity and gets you thinking and working in a new direction.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in My Life and Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Love Notes

  1. What a great idea! I love the weekend creativity project and using it to step outside of your comfort zone. Now I want to go make books…

  2. Becca Imbur says:

    Let’s make books! I would love to lead a workshop at St. Pierre one Saturday! Let’s make it happen!

Leave a Reply

