New Tools!

I am always excited to purchase new toys, I mean tools.  While on vacation, I treated myself to a few new items that will aid me in adding variety to my jewelry.  My favorite purchase and an item that I have wanted for 15 years is a doming block.  This will allow me to form coined shaped metal into different sized domes adding new dimension to my jewelry creations!

I also came home with 220 copper washers in different sizes.  I came home with 110 from summer vacation, and they became earrings and necklaces and sold unbelievably well.  Another item that I have been curious about and not sure how it will work is a magnifying visor.  Its pretty crazy to look through at this point, but I think I will appreciate it once I get used to.

And let’s not forget the large paper cutter!  I make my earring cards and necklace price tags, and I have been using a small cutter that is designed for scrap booking.  My process has been more time consuming than it needs to be and hopefully the new cutter will reduce time and increase productivity! I guess that is the hope with any new tool, time saving and efficiency.

It’s nice to be back and exciting to get back to making jewelry!

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in Jewelry and Business. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

