My best friend

In looking at things, people, and feelings that inspire me, I cannot help but think of all the inspiration that I received from my best friend Deborah over the years.  She and I became inseparable in first grade.  We both had Smurf lunch boxes, and one day they were switched at lunch by “accident”.  Her mom got in touch with mine, and through the exchange we realized we were neighbors.  I spent more time at her house growing up than I did my own. Her big sister Sarah is my big sister Sarah, and her mom and dad are my adopted parents.

Deborah was always creating something, so projects abounded at her house.  We made all types of clay, painted everything, wrote stories, acted out plays, built forts, and made plenty of messes!  As we got older and our crafts became more refined, we began making thread and beaded jewelry.  We made tons of candles, as well as painting things, drawings, decoupage, stained glass, and living outside the box.  I gave Deborah a lesson on the sewing machine, and once she had her daughter she began making baby doll pillows and blankets.

My friend was one of those people who challenged me to try new things.  She was always running a thousand miles an hour and head first into everything!  I had to do a lot of running to keep up with her as I am more cautious and prefer to observe before I dive in.  I learned to stretch myself and use my imagination to its fuller potential from my friend.  She was always someone I could talk to when I needed an imaginative solution to a problem.

Deborah passed away three years ago, an accidental and sudden death.  It was shocking and still has not completely set in that my best friend of 26 years is no longer a phone call away.  She left us before I started my jewelry business, and it is something I often wish  that I could share with her.  I do remember her in my work as I sometimes incorporate butterflies into pieces, a creature that will always remind me of her as she was an avid butterfly freak!  So here’s to my friend who taught me flexibility in my creativity and unconditional love!  -Cheers Crazy Girl!

Me and Deborah around 9th grade

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in My Life and Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My best friend

  1. Pat Guilliams says:

    I so enjoy your blog entries. You really should write a book!

Leave a Reply

