Spirit of Creativity

I have been asking friends for ideas for my blog posts and received a most excellent one yesterday!    The suggestion was to write about inspiration, not objects, but from within.  What drives me to create, what inside me needs to get out?  A good question for all of us I would say, and  I am still pondering my answer!

I have never really much questioned why I create; it is something I have always done, and it is just part of me, the part of me that is spirit, energy; that is the part of me that creates.  When I make jewelry or anything for that matter, I connect with the silence that is within.  It is the place that could be called a vibrational frequency, the home of spirit, OM, the source…  In this silent space I feel I become a conduit for something in the universe that flows through me.

This flow explains why ideas constantly “pop” into my head and seem never ending.  When I am removed from the flow, my creativity becomes stagnant and ideas seem far away.  Through focus and care of self, I open myself to that which is yet unwritten or unexpressed.  My need to create is an expression of this spirit that is me and that which holds us all together.  We are intertwined in a way that is bigger than most of us can imagine and that interconnection is what is expressed through my “work”.

I leave you with a painting titled Painting by Alex Gray. I think it a good visual for what I am attempting to express in words.

Painting by Alex Gray

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in My Life and Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spirit of Creativity

  1. Mallory says:

    Hi, we met today. I so far have read this page and I love it as well as you! In my life I often feel a flow. Recently I have been having trouble with what my spirit leads me too and what society tells me to do.

    Then, there are also times where I lose the flow and find myself having difficulty making decisions.

    In the end even when I try my hardest at times to fight against this flow because I am feel I should do otherwise according to society, in the end I always come back to what you describe. This energy, this light, harmony and silent light creates beauty wherever I go.

    You inspire me

    Sincerely the little girl still with a desire to teach yoga and love for massage and all other creations from within.

Leave a Reply

