Multi Use

There are many tools that I use in jewelry production that are not meant for that purpose, but they work just fine.  One of my favorite non-jewelry tools that I use quite often is a pencil for a mandrel in forming wire.  Another is a ball peen hammer in place of a chasing hammer, $6.99 at the hardware store.  I use a crock pot for a pickle pot, and the pickle solution is water and citric acid, clean and safe.  My flux brush is an acrylic paint brush, and my fire scale brush is a bamboo calligraphy brush.  My flux container is meant to hold nuts and bolts, and my fire scale is in a baby food jar.  The fire scale I use is made up of denatured alcohol and boric acid, both from the hardware store.  The butane torch I use for soldering I picked up at a kitchen supply store; it is the same type that you would heat the top of your creme brulee with.  And my solder is separated into Altoid containers, a different flavor for each type of solder.   My work bench is an old gardening bench that has been refurbished with a bamboo top to resemble the workbenches seen in jewelry catalogs.  I use a paper cutter marketed to scrap bookers to cut my earring cards and an old hat pin to punch the holes for earrings.  Ah, and the 14 and 12 gauge copper wire that I use in my work is scrap from electrical wiring that would normally be thrown away.  So here is to reusing and creatively figuring out how to reduce cost and recycle!  Happy Day!

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in Jewelry and Business. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

