Collaboration

Throughout my first year in business, I have worked with different artisans in collaborative efforts in certain aspects of my business.  My favorite thus far has been my creative collaboration with my good friend and glass artist Lara Phelps.  She and I met when our daughters, who are exactly one month apart in age, were around a year old. They are six now.    Lara and I share MANY common interests; a great love for jewelry is one of those.

Lara is a stay-at-home, home-school mom; these jobs take up the majority of her time.  Some months ago she got her studio set up and reconnected with her lamp worked glass bead creations.  Her beads are really beautiful and after seeing them, she and I worked out a deal for a collaborative project.  When Lara has the opportunity, she makes beads and then hands them off to me to be added into my jewelry pieces.  This project is a win win for both of us.  It allows Lara the opportunity to get her work out into the market place and for me it reduces my overhead and enhances the quality of my jewelry.

I love getting bags of beads from Lara!  Once I have them in hand, I pour them out on my workbench and try to see what they are waiting to become.  It is always inspiring to have such beauty in front of me and doesn’t take long before I see the finished piece in my mind.  In our collaborative pieces, I try to capture the fun that Lara and I have together and the joy we hold for most things life has to offer us.  Here are four pieces I just finished this afternoon, and Iam well pleased with the end result!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in My Life and Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Collaboration

  1. Gerri Young says:

    I really like the penny jewelry and have a niece who is a banker. Thought it would make a great present for her for Christmas. How can I buy a pair of earrings? What do they cost?

    I live in Blacksburg. Where are you?

Leave a Reply

