My Hobby

At a recent show a lady was in my booth looking at my jewelry and commented, “What a nice hobby you have.”  I did not know how to respond at first and finally got out to her that jewelry was not my hobby but how I feed my family and what I do full time.  After hearing that, I started thinking about what my hobby was.  In all my life I have never said that I had one. I do what I do, and it’s my life. But in wanting to define hobby in my life, I realize photography would be it.

I have always loved trying to capture the beauty in the world around me through my camera.  I remember as a child, when you actually had to develop film, my mom used to get pretty upset when she was paying to develop pictures of flowers and tree bark.  She informed me that she only wanted to see faces in pictures, and I focused on that for a while.  As an adult in the digital age, I now get to play with the love of texture, shadow, and nature in my photography.  Yippee!  (hey mom!)

My years of playing with photography and capturing a feeling are beginning to pay off.  In my jewelry business I attempt to photograph most of my pieces and have had a few of my pieces published in local papers and of course my website.   http://mountainlightjewelry.com/Welcome.html Coming soon you will find one of my photographs in the Floyd Press featuring the work of another vendor who builds bluebird houses.  And one of my highest honors so far has been having my photographs used on the website of Jackson Cunningham, a traditional Fiddle maker and musician with the White Top Mountaineers, an outstanding band focusing on traditional Appalachian music.  http://www.whitetopmountaineers.com/fr_jacksonsshop.cfm

So here are a few of my favorite photographs that have captured where I am in body and spirit in recent days…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in My Life and Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

