Great Weekend!

I am almost recovered from a great weekend!  Friday and Saturday 10-10, I was selling at Steppin’ Out in Blacksburg, VA.  The weather was absolutely perfect, the people were great, and the sales were amazing!  I did not have one person all weekend ask if I made the jewelry they were looking at, a comment I am oh so used to at my usual venues.  I also received lots of compliments and a few really good ideas for designs.

This being my first two day twelve hour show, I found by Saturday afternoon I was exhausted!  I have been experimenting with how to keep my energy up through these long days, and it seems fructose is my best friend, as well as a good cup of black coffee in late afternoon. Fruit smoothies and fruit salads and a simple piece of fruit really keep me going on solid energy.  The body processes the sugars in fruit very easily, and I do not get a crash afterward as I would with refined sugar. I just get a nice healthy glow.  Also black coffee is an amino acid, and the body processes it as a protein which is a good solid energy boost with no crash later.  Add sugar and cream to the coffee, and you are weighing the body down and can expect a crash afterward.

I love people watching and have learned a lot by watching the other vendors.  You can see the energy shifts in the vendors that are eating street food; cookies, ice cream, sodas, sugary, greasy foods.  By the end of the day these people look like pavement.  The ones that are eating well and taking care of themselves with nourishing foods and lots of water look about the same at the end of the day as they do in the morning.  I pack all of my own food, smoothies, and water and keep myself on my usual eating schedule and it seems to work out well.

One thing that I did realize after two, twelve hour days standing on the street, I need a mat to stand on.  I have seen other vendors standing on mats and now I understand why.  Even in really good shoes (Fit Flops) my legs were feeling the burn of standing on pavement so long.  I found out the mats that others are standing on are from Lowes or Home Depot.  Those mats have just made it to the top of my wish list and I will be purchasing one on my errand run later this week.

My daughter goes to first grade this Thursday and I am back to full time production!  I am looking forward to it as I have missed being in the studio full time this summer!  I can not wait to dive into soldering and annealing and all the new techniques I have recently learned.  I am really excited to see the evolution of my jewelry!  I feel the change will be dramatic and well worth it!

Happy Day!

-Carly

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in My Life and Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

