Errands and Inspiration

Yesterday was  a day filled with errands and inspiration seeking.  I came home with a Map Gas Torch for annealing my copper cuffs, Denatured Alcohol and Boric Acid for fire coating metal, and Citric Acid for my Pickle Pot.  Funny how such purchases have me so excited and what fun the hardware store can be!

Once those items were in hand, I parked myself in the floor of Barnes and Noble looking through jewelry books and magazines.  I will say there are lots of books on the subject, and so many are the same thing over and over again!  I left with a copy of the Step By Step Wire Jewelry Magazine and will be treating myself to a subscription, as I usually leave with a copy of this publication.  Another book I will be adding to my wish list is Creative Silver Chains by Chantal Saunders!  The designs in this book are amazingly creative and elegant!

But I must say my greatest inspiration did not come from the jewelry magazines or books.  I found that creative spark in a book on Crop Circles!  It reminds me of a line in one of my all time favorite songs, “Once in a while you can get shown the light in the strangest of places if you look at it right.”  That rings very true here; the patterns had such a flow and energy.  I was seeing them on cuffs and pendants and earrings, all fun!  Such a mysterious work of art, and I look forward to seeing how it shows itself in my creations.

Crop Circles

Off to pack the display in the car, Friday Night Artisan Market Downtown Floyd!  I will take my camera and get some pics to share.  Happy Day!

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in My Life and Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Errands and Inspiration

  1. I am so thrilled to be on your wish list! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

