My First Blog Post!!!

“Grandma’s Silver”

I have wanted to do a blog for my jewelry business for quite some time and I am really excited to make it happen!!!   I finished up a five day Basic Jewelry Fabrications class at the Jacksonville Center in Floyd with Barb Baur as the instructor last week.  The class was wonderful, and I am excited to put my new skills to practice.  I learned Fabrication Skills more than 10 years ago at Savannah College of Art and Design, where I majored in Metal and Jewelry Design.  Once I left school, I left jewelry behind me.  Throughout my life I have been drawn back to jewelry many times and have always found a peaceful place in myself when I create wearable art.  I returned to jewelry with great passion two years ago.  I had insomnia from a new hair color I was trying, so not being able to sleep I got up and started forming silver wire, copper wire, cutting jump rings and chasing metal.  I have been making jewelry almost daily since that night.  My business will celebrate one year in September!  Happy Day!  -Carly

About Mountain Light Jewelry

My name is Carly Burke and I am a jewelry artist living in the Blue Ridge Mountains of VA. I turned my hobby into a business September 2009 and have enjoyed using mostly copper and argentium silver wire and semi precious stones to create unique wearable art. I have also appreciated the challenge of jewelry photography, marketing, selling and learning to be a salesman.
This entry was posted in My Life and Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

